“I have never let my schooling interfere with my education”

“I remember sitting in one of my first university lectures, when the professor issued a memorably stern warning: “Don’t let your schooling interfere with your education” he cautioned, quoting Mark Twain. I took his warning to heart, promising that I would not get too caught up in my studies, that I would take advantage of the many opportunities on campus. Then I, like I imagine most of my peers that day, completely forgot Twain’s words, buried myself under a mountain of books, part-time jobs, and scholarships applications, only to emerge four years later, degree in hand, completely dazed…”

This is how I began my application letter to McGill law school, an ultimately successful endeavour. And so it is time to begin yet another university degree, the first two cherished and only a little crumpled at the bottom of some drawer somewhere.

So don’t be surprised if this blog goes silent for a while. I have never managed to heed Twain’s advice and balance schooling and education, preferring instead the no-fun-no-outside-life approach to university.  I have ended my existential wanderings about the globe in favour of at least three years in Montreal, a bed without bugs, a lifestyle that supports blender ownership, and only a partial inability to recognize myself.

And so this blog could, for the few years anyway, be renamed “Emily, in the library.”

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

